Undoing, Redoing and Saving Your Changes

Undo

When you click the Undo button a drop-down menu of recent changes will be displayed with the most recent change at the top of the list. Since this is a menu, just click the menu item for how far back you want to undo. In the example shown here, click item 1 to undo just the last change (resetting the Loop indicator in Q7), click item 2 to undo the last two changes (resetting the Loop indicator in Q7 and resetting the End At point in Q1), and so on.

Consecutive changes to the same field are treated as a single change. For example, if you change a level from -3.0dB to -4.5dB and then to -12dB and then Undo that change, the level will revert to -3.0dB. This only applies if the changes are consecutive. If you changed some other field before your level change to -12dB, then the undo would revert that level to -4.5dB. As well as field changes, Undo and Redo will also undo or redo cue movements, additions and deletions.

Redo

When you undo some changes these changes are not immediately lost - they are added to the Redo list. So if you undo a couple of actions, then the Redo list would then show these same changes but in the reverse order, ie the oldest change would be at the top of the list. This is because redoing changes must be done in the same order the original changes were made.

The Redo button is disabled as soon as you make a change to a field or add a cue, etc. That is, you can only Redo changes if no other changes have been made since your last Undo.

Save

You can save your changes at any time by clicking the Save button. Your current cue file will be renamed with a .bak extension, and a new cue file is then saved (with a .scs11 extension). If you want to save your cue file with a different name then you need to use the Save As menu item available under the Other Actions button.

Undo and Redo are not affected by saving your changes - you can undo back past your last save. The undo list is cleared only when a new cue file is opened.

Recovery

If your computer crashes while you are editing a cue file, then when you next start SCS it will offer you the option to recover from your last edit. Regardless of when you last saved your changes, you should find that SCS will recover to a very recent point in your editing - probably up to the last change you made. You will not, however, be able to "undo" any changes prior to that recovery point.

Back to Starting and Using the Editor